Latin American Electroacoustic Music Collection

Gustavo Becerra-Schmidt (Chile)

Gustavo Becerra-Schmidt (born in Temuco, 1925) wrote in 1957 the article published by Revista Musical Chilena: "¿Qué es la música electrónica?" ("What is electronic music?"). That was the first article about electronic music published on this important Chilean music journal.

Becerra-Schimidt uses electroacoustic medias in his music since the 60s, but according to comments by Chilean composer Carlos Botto, even some of his instrumental works composed during the 50s already presented an approach to typical concrète and electronic sounds worlds.

Among many other works, Becerra-Schmidt composed "Macchu Picchu" for orchestra, soprano, reciter, chorus, countertenor and audio frequency oscillator, in 1966; "Juegos" for piano, 12 ping pong balls, tape and one brick, in 1966; "Concierto nº 2" for guitar with contact mic and echo, and "Tres piezas" for clarinet and tape, both in 1968; "Historia de una Provocación" for chamber group and tape, in 1972 "Los Sátrapas" for soprano, synthesizer, projections and instrumental group, in 1973; "Corvalán" for soprano, electroacoustic medias and multimedia, in 1974; "Progresiones" a multimedia work including film projections, slides and electronic music, in 1976; "Exposición concertante", interactive electronic music for 11 synthesizers and sensors, in 1980; "Preludio y Balistoccata" for piano and computer, in 1981; "Oda al Mar" for reciter and computer, in 1986; "Interior" for computer, in 1987; "Naechtlicher Rat", for one actress, two actors, MIDI guitar, vibraphone and tape, in 1988; "Dialog", version for guitar, flute and tape in 1989.

Since the early 70s Becerra-Schmidt lives in Germany.

Resources available for this composer:
- List of compositions (2 compositions)