Latin American Electroacoustic Music Collection

Gabriel Brncic (Chile)

Gabriel Brncic (born in Santigo, 1942) moved from Chile to Buenos Aires in 1965 to study at CLAEM - Instituto Di Tella, in Argentina. During 1966 he started to work together with Fernando von Reichenbach, Technical Director at the Institute, testing his Analog Graphic Converter. Then Brncic compose all the electronic part of his mixed piece "Dialexis" using this new system, similar to the UPIC developed years later by Xenakis.

Between 1967 and 1970 Brncic was assistant professor of electroacoustic music at CLAEM. He also began to experiment with computer applications to music, working with the Fortran language. From 1971 to 1973 he was Director of the Electroacoustic Music and Sound Lab at CICMAT (Centro de Investigación en Comunicación Masiva, Arte y Tecnología), supported by the Municipality of Buenos Aires. Later he moved to Spain where he have been living since then.

In 1975 Brncic started to teach composition at the Phonos Electroacoustic Music Studio in Barcelona, and became later Director of that studio. Since 1993 he is the Artistic Director of the Phonos Foundation in Barcelona.

Among other musical works, Gabriel Brncic composed: "Dialexis" for 8 percussionists and tape in 1966; "Volveremos a las Montanas" for flute, clarinet, piano, vibraphone and tape in 1967; "Volveremos a las montañas" and "Batucada amenazante para los que huyen", electronic works, between 1969 and 1970; "Musica de 1973" for prepared piano, synthesizer and tape in 1973; "Quodlibet 4" for piano and tape in 1976; "Cielo" for viola and tape in 1981; "Concierto gótico" for viola and tape in 1985; "Clarinen Tres" for clarinet and tape in 1986; "Dulcian Concert" for basoon and tape in 1989; "Viaje al invierno" for flute and tape in 1990.

Brncic also developed Ronde-Bosse (Alto relieve) between 1982 and 1991, a software to assist the creation of musical structures.

(last update by RDF: March, 2004)

Resources available for this composer:
- List of compositions (13 compositions)