Musique électroacoustique latino-américaine

Coriún Aharonián (Uruguay)

[Traduction non disponible]
Coriún Aharonián (born in Montevideo, 1940) have been composing with electroacoustic medias since the 60s. He is a well known teacher, writer and promoter of new music, and was also one of the main forces behind the Cursos Latinoamericanos de Musica Contemporanea (Latin American Contemporary Music Courses) mentioned above.

Aharonián composed his first electroacoustic work in Montevideo during 1960 for the theatre piece "Inspezione" by Ugo Betti; then in 1962 he composed electroacoustic music for a short film by José Carlos Alvarez and José Pedro Boggiani; from 1963 to 1966 he was composing music for several theatre pieces using electroacoustic medias ("La fuente del arcángel" in 1963; "Suddenly last Summer" in 1964; "Le tuer sans gages" in 1965; "Water 2000" in 1966. During 1966 he also composed "Hecho 2 (en tres partes y en re)", a musical theatre piece for prepared piano, xilophonic claves, sine and square wave electronic generators, tubular bell, 4 idiophones and/or membranophones, 6 tape recorders, and paint brushes. Then in 1967 Aharonián composed "Música para aluminios", for three instrumentalists and tape, being the tape part realized at studio 21 of SODRE radio station in Montevideo.

During 1969 he was in Buenos Aires studying and composing at CLAEM - Instituto Di Tella, and composed "Que", for tape, at its Electronic Music Lab. During 1971 produced two short studies at GRM in Paris, France. Then in 1974, he composed "Gran tiempo" and "Homenaje a la flecha clavada en el pecho de Don Juan Díaz de Solís", both for tape, at the Charybde studio of Groupe de Musique Expérimentale de Bourges (GMEB).

"¡Salvad los niños!" from 1976 and "Esos silencios" from 1978 (revised in 1981), were composed working at "ELAC, pequeño estudio de Montevideo", according to Aharonián "an small and modest cooperative studio".

Then in 1984 Aharonián composed "Apruebo el sol" at EMS (Elektronmusikstudion) in Stockholm, Sweden. From 1995 is his tape piece "Secas las pilas de todos los timbres", realized at the Studio für Elektroakustische Musik of the Akademie der Künste in Berlin, Germany.

Among other pieces, Aharonián also composed music using electroacoustic medias for the theatre plays: "Rhynoceros" in 1975; "Chaika" in 1977; "La trastienda" in 1977; "Sacco y Vanzetti" in 1983; "Las ranas" in 1991; and "Molière" in 1998.

He lives in Montevideo.

(text updated: October, 2003)

Ressources disponibles pour ce compositeur :
- Liste des compositions (8 compositions)

Table des matières :